h1

Thursday Gourmet

17 June, 2010

I like spicy foods.   Especially chili pepper-based spicy food.  I’m not all that fond of horseradish or mustard heat, just the chili peppers.  My family (and (((Wife)))’s family) know that I like spicy food.  Which can create a minor problem. Sometimes I receive a gift consisting of a jar of dried chilis.  Some of these I love — crumbled cascabel, mulatto, or jalapeno I can and do use.  Chipotle peppers, dried and smoked jalapeno, are pretty good, but their flavour is so strong, so overpowering, that I find them hard to use.  Which means that I have a couple of jars of minced chipotle sitting in my cupboards. 

What to do, what to do.

Wait, I’ll make a chipotle sauce.  And here it is:

Sweet, Smokey and Spicy Chipotle Sauce

1 22 oz can crushed tomatoes
1/4 to 1/2 cup minced chipotle peppers
1 Tablespoon ancho chili powder
4 Tablespoons honey
3 cloves garlic, finely minced or run through a garlic press
1 Tablespoon minced cilantro (optional)
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup boiling water

Place the chipotle peppers in a heat-proof container and pout the boiling water over them.  Let it sit for 30 minutes.  Drain off any water that hasn’t been absorbed.

Heat the tomatoes, garlic, cilantro and salt in a pot on the stove (don’t use aluminum).  When it reaches  a light boil, add the chipotle, ancho, and honey.  Let it simmer for about 30 to 45 minutes, stirring frequently, until the sauce has thickened.  Let it cool and store in the refrigerator in a glass jar.

I’ve used this as a barbecue sauce for pork and chicken done out on the grill. Or add a tablespoon or two to your homemade guacamole.  It also tastes great with some good corn chips.  It is sweet, smokey and spicy all at the same time.

Enjoy.

9 comments

  1. I find the chipotle is a fine additive for chile con carne.


  2. […] Thursday Gourmet « (((Billy))) The Atheist […]


  3. Desertscope:

    There are times when smoked chilis are the right flavour for me. FOr most chiles, I prefer the dried or fresh chilis over the smoked ones. Personal preference.

    But if you like chipotles, I strongly recommend this sauce.


  4. This looks really good. I’ll have to make a batch to take along when I go camping next week.


  5. Oooh. Where ya goin’ campin’?


    • You’re probably familiar with both venues. We’ll be at Cunningham Falls State Park (MD) for a few days, then Greenbrier State Park (also MD). We decided to keep this trip close to home.


      • I remember swimming at Greenbrier many times when in Middle School and early high school. Cunningham Falls state park is up by Catoctin Mountain Park (gotta plug the NPS). I went to a week long school camp up in that area in 7th grade; Cunningham Falls was also the de rigeur destination for every year’s senior skip day.

        So, no, never heard of them.


  6. I am grateful for your post. Id really like to comment that the expense of car insurance varies greatly from one coverage to another, since there are so many different issues which give rise to the overall cost. As an example, the model and make of the motor vehicle will have a large bearing on the fee. A reliable old family car will have a more affordable premium when compared to a flashy expensive car.


  7. I recently required to write down an instant term so as to give thanks a person for the people wonderful tips along with hints you’re exhibiting on this web site.



Leave a comment