h1

Atheist 13 Meme

13 June, 2008

Poodles tagged me with this meme.

The Atheist Thirteen

[In order that we might find out at least a little bit more about each other in the atheist blogging community, I’ve come up with a little meme. That, and I’m away this weekend at my sister’s wedding and won’t be blogging.] ~Thus spake Nullifidian.

If you’d like to take part, copy these questions, and answer them in your own words on your own blog.

Q1. How would you define “atheism”?

There is no necessity for god(s), there is no evidence that god(s) have ever interceded in human affairs, and the simplest explanation is that there is no god(s), so atheism is reality. 

Was your upbringing religious? If so, what tradition?

No, I grew up in a Unitarian Universalist household, with parents moving from a universal deist to an atheist viewpoint.

Q3. How would you describe “Intelligent Design”, using only one word?

Useless.

Q4. What scientific endeavour really excites you?

Paleontology

Q5. If you could change one thing about the “atheist community”, what would it be and why?

I would like to say that we need to be united and organized, but, other than disbelief in god(s), we come from all over the spectrum.  If we did unify and organize formally, would we become the ‘church’ that fundogelicals claim we are?  Ah, hell.  Let’s be more outspoken.

Q6. If your child came up to you and said “I’m joining the clergy”, what would be your first response?

Atheist clergy?  Did you read my previous answer?  Actually, I hope that I would be supportive, of course, it would also depend upon which church it was.  Unitarian, I would have no problem.  Other traditions, I don’t know.

Q7. What’s your favourite theistic argument, and how do you usually refute it?

Pascals Wager… What if you have picked the wrong god? (these are Poodles words, but I don’t have a better answer).

Q8. What’s your most “controversial” (as far as general attitudes amongst other atheists goes) viewpoint?

I am a firm believer in higher taxes and more federal regulation of private industry in order to help the environment, protect workers, and prevent businesses like Bear Stearns or Enron bankrupting themselves.

Q9. Of the “Four Horsemen” (Dawkins, Dennett, Hitchens and Harris) who is your favourite, and why?

None.  I like Ehrmann.

Q10. If you could convince just one theistic person to abandon their beliefs, who would it be?

Dobson or one of his minions.  Of course, then they would be atheist assholes instead of theist assholes, so I’m not sure it would help much.

Now name three other atheist blogs that you’d like to see take up the Atheist Thirteen gauntlet?

Sorry, I don’t tag.  But I will strongly urge my atheospheric co-bloggers to pick up this Meme and run with it.

8 comments

  1. Q3. How would you describe “Intelligent Design”, using only one word?

    How about only one picture instead. . .

    Lends a whole new meaning to ID doesn’t it?


  2. OK, I’ve tagged myself. 😉


  3. Robin: Welcome to my blog. I like the photo: remove the source of enlightenment.

    Chanson: Okay, I tag you retroactively.


  4. I’ve tagged myself, too.


  5. Laurie: Welcome. I tag you retroactively. Okay, folks, one more and I’ve fulfilled the implied contract.


  6. What the hell, I’ve been memed plenty recently, one more won’t make a difference. Consider your quota fulfilled.


  7. Billy, while I can think of reasons of my own, I’d love to hear you expand on the reason paleontology is the scientific endeavor you chose as the one that really excites you. I would have said astronomy myself…or biology. Paleontology would probably come up too.


  8. […] Scientologists didn’t get me. The memes did, though ,so here’s the Atheist 13 Meme, courtesy of (((Billy))) and originated by […]



Leave a comment