h1

Pareidolia Run Amock! *

21 December, 2009

I will soon be heading to Florida to visit (((Wife)))’s family.  We do it this time of year as (((Wife))) and (((kids))) have a winter break this time of year to recognize “Abstinence Only Sex Education Doesn’t Work” Day.  Otherwise known as Christmas (and Saturnalia, Yule, Winter Solstice, and myriad others).  (This year, I do plan to actually count the crosses I see from I-81 in the Shenandoah and Cumberland Valleys.)

In honour of said “Abstinence Only Sex Education Doesn’t Work Day”, I give you this image (from Friendly Atheist (who’s not sure where it actually came from originally, so if anyone knows, let him know)):

Do you suppose that if Mary had actually been able to attend comprehensive sex education (otherwise known as abstinence plus actual facts), we could have avoided the last 2,000 years of nonsense?  Or would the Holy Spirit have gone all macho, insisting he didn’t want to wear a fucking raincoat?

*  Intentional mispelling from the Malay ‘amok’ (mad with rage) because yes, I am mocking many different aspects of organized religion within one short and shallow post.

5 comments

  1. I think they’d say it was a sign NOT to use it, and for the gays it’s a sign not to do what they’re about to do.

    “Amok” always reminds me of watching Thundarr the barbarian cartoons as a kid on Saturday mornings. Remember his companion Ukla the Mok?


  2. Philly, you young pup, you!

    (sigh)

    I was watching the original cartoon skeptics.


  3. Philly: Have you ever noticed that, when it comes to religion, it almost always comes out as some variation of “Damned if you do it, saved if I do it.”

    I was never a fan of Thudarr. I think I watched it once but was not impressed. Give me the old Loony Tunes and I’m happy.

    Ildi: When you call an old man like Philly a young pup, it makes you sound old.


  4. Do you suppose that if Mary had actually been able to attend comprehensive sex education (otherwise known as abstinence plus actual facts), we could have avoided the last 2,000 years of nonsense?

    Nope. God would have just moved on to another pretty young thing. Instead of Mary Mother of God, people would have been praying to Leah Mother of God, or Rachel Mother of God, maybe even Sarah Mother of God.


    • Good point. Abusers are very good at finding the vulnerable and/or ignorant.



Leave a Reply

