h1

Strange Priorities

11 November, 2009

A few months ago, I posted (twice) about a school in Kentucky where the district had no problem with the football coach taking the kids, sans permission slips, to a Baptist revival, but required a signed note from mom and dad to watch President Barrack Obama tell the kids to work hard and stay in school.  Wait.  It gets worse (from The Political Carnival):

I have a friend who has a high school aged niece living in Williamson County, Texas. The niece’s 25-year-old brother is in the Army, stationed in Afghanistan.

I just heard from my friend, just a few minutes ago. It turns out that the niece was very distraught today… so distraught, in fact, that she had a panic attack and had to leave school. You see, the brother and sister lived in Fort Hood from 2004-2006.

The sister wanted to know why she needed her parents’ permission to stay in school for President Obama’s education speech, but not for the empty boots and Taps that aired without restriction during today’s speech honoring those slain by the Ft. Hood shooter.

Good question.

She is still pulling herself together as I write this, which, per my friend, requires a wash cloth and substantial make-up touch-ups.

Yes, in all its education-oriented wisdom, the school district banned the president’s speech about why it’s important to stay in school, work hard, and aim high. Kids at high schools throughout the district needed the okay from Mom and Dad for that…except those in U.S. government classes. I guess those kids were immune to indoctrination.

President saying stay in school, bad — permission slip needed. 

Memorial for slain soldiers (potentially triggering), just peachy– don’t even bother checking with the parents.

10 comments

  1. Well, depending on the school (I’m guessing…fundie??) these policies are actually consistent :-\


  2. Eaten: The post doesn’t specify private or public, so I’m not sure. However, rural Texas would generally mean fundie, whether public school or not.


  3. Typical liberal. What is wrong with honoring our troops? Troops who were murdered by a radical Muslim terrorist here in America. Just because they were not killed by terrorists in Iraq, Iran, Pakistan, Afghanistan or any other Muslim terrorist state doesn’t mean they aren’t heroes worthy of our respect.

    I notice the liberal blogs and the liberal media are quit silent on the fact athat this was the first terrorist attack on US soil since 9/11? Didn’t Obama take an oath to defend America? Bush kept us safe for 7 years without an attack and liberals defamed him and threw him out.

    This is what happens when we let non-Americans into our army.

    Get a life and be fair.


  4. Matthew,

    I was going to calmly rebutt your screed, but you’re so wrong on so many points that I just don’t have the energy.

    But, you know, just for shits & giggles, I’ll point out that the “typical liberal” is a vet and Hassan was born and raised in the US.


  5. Sorry, I don’t have permission slip envy on this one (not saying that you do, (((Billy)))). I don’t have a problem with the school honoring the slain soldiers. My disagreement with our nation’s current military adventures does not entail disrespect for military personnel. Again, I know it doesn’t for you either, (((Billy)))), or Postie – if I recall correctly, both of you have served in the military.

    In my mind the real problem was the notion of requiring a permission slip to hear a motivational speech by the president. That was batshit crazy stupid. That kind of stupid is not best countered by handing out more permission slips.

    BTW, Matthew, if I have to slap a political label on myself, I’m fairly liberal. Did you ever consider the idea that perhaps liberal bloggers, etc., have remained relatively quiet about the matter until more facts are uncovered? What a novel idea. As for Bush keeping us safe, tell that to the families of the soldiers killed in his wars, and to the other soldiers who have been maimed and are receiving shitty care in overextended, underfunded veterans’ hospitals. Yeah, Bush kept them really safe with second-rate personal armor, etc.


    • Agreed, Chappie. To require a permission slip in order to hear the president speak is beyond ridiculous. I don’t think “the neice” should have had to have a permission slip to watch the coverage at school, but (((Billy))) is right. She should have been warned.


  6. Matthew: Your right wing talking points have been noted. Thank you for showing your colours.

    And terrorist attacks? Anthrax ring a bell? Also, the number of terrorist attacks worldwide grew so quickly that the Bushies decided to no longer publish the stats.

    Postie: Thanks.

    Chappie: I agree that honouring the soldiers is the right thing to do. I remember, though, that after the Marines were killed in Lebanon (I was still in HS in 1983) we watched the memorial service. A note was also sent home the night before letting the parents know what would be happening. Given the number of children with family serving in extremely dangerous situations, at least letting the parents know might have been appropriate. Maybe. I don’t know.

    I really feel for this girl, though. To be in a ‘safe’ place and try to deal with this without warning would not be easy. Or comfortable. I can see both sides of this one — the dangers of over-protectiveness are real.


  7. Yeah, I can see how a warning or announcement might have been a good idea.


  8. And with that warning, the option to not participate


  9. Chappie: I gotta start writing this stuff, letting it sit for a day, and then correcting the obvious lack of clarities.

    Quixotic: Exactly what I tried to say in the post. Thanks.



Leave a Reply

