h1

Another Year Gone By

10 September, 2009

A year ago, I wrote about memories of September 11, 2009, and the stench of zealotry.  I cannot really add much to what I wrote, except to say that the memories brought to the surface by the smells I experienced while driving to work that morning are still with me, as strong as before.  The images from my time in New York 8 years ago are bearable.  The smells are tougher.

The nightmares, a year later, are still here — two, three, four times a week.  Three different dreams, all of them terrifying. 

The zealotry, the religious zealotry, is still  here a year later.  Muslims, Christians, Jews, the monotheistic religions of ‘peace’ continue to use terrorism to advance their world view.

Some may think that paragraph too harsh.  Tell that to Dr. Tiller’s family.  Tell that to the Palestinians. Tell that to the Israelis.  Tell that to the Iraqis.  Or the Afghans.  Or Indonesians, Indians, and Pakistanis.  The scale is more personal.

The stench is the same.

5 comments

  1. Hasn’t it been said that the most religious people on the plane were the hijackers?

    I’ll say to you what I said to my son and others back form that foolishness, you’ve got today and all that goes with it, shed your tears if it helps, take my arm if you need it.


  2. I can’t even imagine dealing with what you’re experiencing. Take care.


  3. Sarge: Luckily I’m getting some support. Lots from family.

    Cyberlizard: When I’m awake, its not too bad. When I get a smell induced panic attack, I just let it flow through me — kinda like standing in the water at a beach and letting the wave lift me up and flow past. I can react and manage my reaction. The ones at night, though. But even they aren’t that bad as it is not every night.


  4. Continue to cope, we need you!

    I’ve told you before, I can’t go to the Viet Nam Memorial for stress reasons, and I didn’t even know what they were, even when I experienced them in Viet Nam. And, like you, other things.

    My youngest son is a navy medic, he was at Falujah among other places, but I’ll say to you what I told him. Be glad you are life savers, not the opposite like me.


  5. Hi my loved one! I want to say that this post is awesome, nice written and come with approximately all significant infos. I would like to peer extra posts like this.



Leave a Reply

