h1

(((Sarah Palin))) is ((Poaching))

7 July, 2009

Sarah Palin is now poaching.  Since I started blogging, I have been (((Billy))) The Atheist.  My trademark parenthetical writing style differentiates me from the average run-of-the-mill (and boring) blogger (one’s who don’t understand the effect of parenthetical overuse).  Now Sarah Palin (soon to be ex-governor of Alaska (for the good of the state)) is poaching my style (you betcha!) (from Dispatches from the Culture Wars):

Ezra Klein, speaking of Palin’s resignation speech at that hastily arranged press conference, said that the transcript makes plain that she wrote it herself. I think he’s right.

The main thing I’d point out about Sarah Palin’s dazzlingly incoherent farewell is that it’s pretty clear she wrote it herself. The proof is in the punctuation. The transcript was posted to her official Web site earlier today. The style is closer to a high schooler’s angry diary entry than to an official speech. I’ve read a lot of speech transcripts. They tend to have fewer words in all capital letters. And fewer things in quotation marks that aren’t actually, you know, quotes. And I’ve never seen an official speech transcript, written by an actual speechwriter, that contains this:

*((Gotta put First Things First))*

Yes, that last line is actually in the speech, written exactly that way. You can see the full transcript on the Alaska governor’s website.

I read the transcript.  My (((Girl))) wrote better than that three years ago when she was a 13-year-old pinhead.  And the (rather gratuitous (in my opinion)) use of parentheses troubles me.  As others have pointed out, there are only a limited number of parentheses allowed in the intertube thingie, and I want them all!!!

I also think that she is out of touch with reality (from the speech transcript):

Life is too short to compromise time and resources… it may be tempting and more comfortable to just keep your head down, plod along, and appease those who demand: “Sit down and shut up”, but that’s the worthless, easy path; that’s a quitter’s way out. And a problem in our country today is apathy. It would be apathetic to just hunker down and “go with the flow”.

Nah, only dead fish “go with the flow”.

The quitter’s way is to keep on doing the job you are paid to do?  Is she insane?  Or is she just batshit crazy? 

Part of me cringes at the thought the GOP nominating her in 2012.  Part of  me, though (and I do feel guilty about this (just a little, of course)), says (in the immortal words of our last President), “Bring it on.”

This also means, I guess, that I may need to rethink my writing style.

4 comments

  1. One other thing I find amusing in that little exerpt from her speech is the contradictory keeping your head down and plodding along to appease those who demand that you sit down and shut up. If you were appeasing them, wouldn’t you STOP plodding along and sit down (and shut up)?

    I just have a really hard time understanding her appeal. Well… let me rephrase that. I can understand why she appeals to some people. I just have a hard time accepting it. 😉


  2. Dan: I think part of her appeal is that the media and religious right put her on a pedestal and neither group is real good at ever admitting a mistake. So now they must defend anything she does, no matter how bizarre. Absolutist authoritarianism tends to reinforce mistakes (see W. Bush, 2001-2009 for a good example).


  3. For the record, I loves me some parentheses! If you write as though you’re speaking (as I tend to in rants), sorta stream-of-consciousness-like, they’re quite useful. Even in excess, they’re less annoying than ellipses… 😉

    Palin’s a fundy & a hack. Bryan Suits (@kfibryan) said on his radio show that he couldn’t imagine that someone who sat in one of his college classes, without EVER raising her hand, was smart enough to be seriously considered for the VP (much less President!). She’s dumb as the proverbial stump, and I think I’d be more outraged and ashamed of having HER as the public face of America to the world than I was of George Bush, simply because she shares my gender – and sets it back a few centuries even as she enjoys the perks of holding office.

    I’m appalled that the Governor of any State in the Union would write, or sign off on, this sentence:

    “Here’s some of the things we’ve done:”

    There’s folksy, and then there’s illiterate. Sheesh.


  4. Rox1: The bit about the parentheses was an attempt at humour. If you read my writings (both on my blog and commenting on other blogs), you’ll notice that I tend to be rather parenthetical. As a matter of fact, for a while, this blog was called “The Parenthetical Atheist.”

    And no, she is not dumb. She is semi-literate, she is uneducated, she is ignorant, and she is stupid. If she were dumb, we’d never hear her speak (which would be nice).



Leave a Reply

