h1

Bored College Student Plus Lego Bricks Equals Strange Creativity

2 June, 2009

(((Boy))), after changing his major four times in two semesters, has decided to spend a year or two at the local community college to figure out what he wants to do (he’s leaning towards a combination of history and fine arts).  Which means he is not only home for the summer, but will be here in the fall, winter and spring.  And, with the economy as it is, finding a job with more than a few hours a week ain’t easy.  He is, however, quite creative (with (as the title would suggest) Legos):

Indiana Jones on a Segue.

Indiana Jones on a Segway.

and:

Lego Lawnmower.

Lego Lawnmower.

Now if we can just channel this talent for good.  Or, at least, profit.

13 comments

  1. Maybe The Brick Testament is hiring?


    • As in, “Jesus Christ on a Segway!”? Makes for a nice bit of creative anachronism, neh?


  2. Well I hope he’s just home for that long, for all your sakes. Art jobs aren’t easy to come by. I remember returning to my high school and telling my guidance counselor I was going to switch to art. She said, “you’ll change your mind when you have no money in your pocket.” Quite the charming old cunt, huh? Still, she was right about it being hard to make money in the arts. I’ve done everything from wall murals to making and setting tombstones (I never got to try tattooing, though).

    I always loved leggos. I know there’s at least one guy making a living doing leggo sculptures. I’m talking life sized models of celebrities and so forth. Then there’s the possibility of making sculptures for big store displays in NYC with leggos.

    If he’s got an interest in digital 3D, send him to Drexel and he might get me as a teacher. Muh-HA-ha-ha!


    • He’s actually thinking, with the history and fine arts approach, to head into exhibit design, museum work, that sort of thing.

      I actually was accepted to Drexel to study computer engineering. I spent a years studying math and, though I was good at it, I hated it. So I switched to history. I figured I would major in something which interested me rather than looking at college as a career school.

      And he is looking at the possibility of a job with Lego. Lots of competition.

      And was that an evil laugh? You need to work on it.


    • It is hard to make money in the arts… take it from an actor in NY. I hate to say this where (((Billy))) can hear me, but before I got my Actor’s Equity card I worked a lot more than after.
      Of course… I hate auditioning, so that may have something to do with it.


  3. I know a twenty-somthing young lady who started her own business (actually two) while she was still in high school. She is actually doing quite well, did not go to college, and due to the school administration’s “problems” with her choice when they found out about it, she never actually picked up her diploma although she earned it.

    She has offered to go to her “old alma squatter” as she calls it, for career days, but they don’t want her anywhere NEAR the place or students (counselers, administrators who remember her) and she gets a big yuck out of it.

    She was asked where she thought she’d be in ten years as opposed to her fellow students (she was a junior in HS and both of her businesses were doing very well) and she figured that she would be about twenty years ahead of them. She was already doing what she wanted, and she WAS the boss right now.

    They were not happy for her, especially when they found out she was telling the truth.


  4. Now I’m really curious -what sort of businesses did the young entreperneur run?


  5. She was raised by her grandfather, who had owned some sort of electrical business and told her that if she worked for other people, she better watch out, and she had certain knacks, so use them and be free.

    She started first with computers (what else) and she had a knack for it. She designed (?) programs which had something to do with silk screening, and she does that and systems that deal with aviation. Control and monitoring.

    She got her pilot’s license through civil air patrol and was able to get an IFR and commercial ticket and started an air courier business. Just one leased plane, now two. She had that rolling by the end of her junior year.

    Her grandfather fronted her the cash, gave some advice, but left her alone otherwise. Except when it was time for the monthly installment on repaying him. About ten days before came the count-down and constant reminders payment was soon due.

    She has alweays been very low key, meticlous (but not anal) and goal oriented. Her businesses are small enough that she can keep her hands on them in every aspect and she wants to keep it that way.


  6. Her grandfather had to sign contracts and such until she was eighteen, so I think he was actually an officer of the “enterprise” up to a point.

    She told me that she was surprised at how many people tried to discourage her. And how angry they got when she actually started to succeed.


  7. Sarge: I have no idea where his education will lead. Right now, he is doing some very impressive work superdetailing and weathering HO model freight cars and locomotives. His artistic ability is impressive. Whether he wants to do it as a career, who knows? Not me. I’m just the clueless Dad.


  8. Aren’t we all? My sons have given me their solemn word that as they’ve gotten older (and had children of their own) I seem to have gotten ever more of a clue.

    Whatever makes him happy and he can live on on his own.

    At least he won’t have the draft to worry about.

    My young friend’s grandfather told me once how he arrived at his philosophy.

    He’d gotten back from Korea, got out of the military and started working for some small outfit.

    He worked hard, never was late, did extra, did his best.
    He noticed after a time that a couple of the guys he worked with were getting raises while he wasn’t, and then one got promoted above him. He had wound up picking up their slack.

    He asked the boss/owner about it and was told that they had shown themselves to be resourceful and were supervisor material, he was a workhorse. He mentioned that these men had insulted the boss to his face and still they were advanced. Boss said that he kind of liked being challenged, showed they had drive.

    Friend said he told boss that he was sorry, he hadn’t known how much he liked that challenge. He opined that the boss would probably love THIS, punched him in the mouth and decked him, and tried to wear out the toe of his shoe on boss’s groin and ribs. Then he did the same for one of his “superiors”, walked out the door, and had his own business started and running within six months.

    He said it was a good lesson on tying your future to someone else’s philosophy.


  9. Yeeowch, well a little violent, but I can definitely see the grandfather’s point, and that boss definitely deserved a swift kick in the rear for being such a dipshit. Wonder how a principal could have such a problem with a successful student that he’d willfully prevent her graduation? That guy needs a serious recalibration of the upstairs gears.


  10. Hi there!

    I’m new to this forum and just wanted to say hi. So Hi!

    bye!



Leave a Reply

