h1

A WTF Moment with a Bumper Sticker

7 May, 2009

While driving home from work this afternoon, I spotted a bumper sticker on the back of the (older) Lexus SUV in front of me.  Actually, I spotted lots of bumper stickers.  Most were standard Christianist godbot:

Kids Need to Pray

.

Homeschoolers Keep it at Home

.

Put God Back in the Schools

.

McCain/Palin

.

Palin 2012: Vote for the Hand that Rocks the Cradle

.

GOP = GOD

And one that made me say (literally (I said it out loud)), “What the Fuck?”

God Embraces the Obsidian Paradigm

I searched for the exact phrase on Google and got nothing.

Can anyone out there clue me in as to what this means?  Seriously.  I know (((Girl))) thinks I am clueless, but really — what does this mean?

20 comments

  1. The hand that rocks the cradle??

    And I have no clue what that last one is about. To be honest, I’m afraid to find out. These sorts of people freeeeeaak me out.


  2. That last one baffles me completely. The others are just more of the same old, same old. The two about homeschooling and putting God back in schools are odd. Why do homeschooling parents care who is in schools their kids are not attending?


  3. Godlessgirl: Thanks for stopping by. The ‘Hand that rocks the cradle’ one I’ve seen a few times — the idea is to vote for Palin because she’s a mother (not to mention grandmother). I don’t think that they thought about the horror/suspense movie.

    Chappie: I have no idea what it means, either. Nor do my kids.

    I wondered about the combination of homeschoolers and prayer in school, too. Weird does not begin to describe it.


  4. Look through a piece of obsidian and you see the world darkly, if you look closer there is always a speck of brighter light. At least that is what I was taught by a Chippewaw medicine man.


  5. 1 Cor 13: (KJV)

    11 When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.

    12 For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.

    ~~~~~~~

    Obsidian is a dark glass.

    But I think in St Paul’s day, they had not mastered the art of making pure glass, so you cannot see clearly even through their normal glass. St Paul was not referring to Obsidian at all.

    I think Obsidian might be opaque.

    ~~~~~~~

    So by Obsidian Paradigm, I guess the Christians are trying to say that it’s ok that they don’t understand everything. For example, it’s ok to believe in creationism even if it doesn’t quite seem to line up with all the evidence.


  6. Tau: Then again, a Hopi friend of mine told me that obsidian was just rock (volcanic rock at that); turquoise, however, opened the mind to the sky.

    Temaskian: I like your hypotheosis. My problem with it, though, is that your hypotheosis requires a rather long and thoughtful mental path. Which would require a great deal of understanding which would contradict your conclusion. You may be right, and it’s the best yet, but I not sold. Yet.


  7. Obsidian is volcanic glass.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Obsidian

    That’s fine. It was just a stab in the dark.


  8. Temaskian: Sorry. Using a geologist’s viewpoint — it is all rocks and minerals, and rocks are composed of minerals. If it was created through volcanic, metamorphic, or sedimentary processes, and has achieved a certain level of solidity (for volcanic rocks, that is anything from tufa to aa to pahoehoe to obsidian), it is a rock. Obsidian has some of the qualities of manufactured glass, but it has similar chemical makeup to other volcanic rocks. The big difference is how fast it cools. Obsidian cooled fast enought that crystal formation is limited. Other basalts, if they cool slowly enough, can have crystals a meter across.

    (This was off the top of my head, if I made any errors in my description, keep in mind I’m doing this while eating breakfast (Asiago bagel with cream cheese), watching Mike & Mike in the Morning, listening to the stuff that (((Girl))) claims is music filtering from upstairs, and tired.)

    And it was a good stab in the dark. Your hypotheosis may be correct — it just sounds like it takes too much for your average godbot.


  9. You’re right, obsidian is a rock. It’s just that it’s glass as well. I think it’s probably one of the few naturally occurring glass. The other one that I found online is the moldavite.

    Normally glass has to be manufactured.

    I just realised that I’m simply repeating some of what you said, but in less detail.

    You seem quite well-versed in this topic (geology). For me, whatever I know is just gleaned from the internet.


  10. It’s going to bother me all day that I can’t even come up with a bad joke about that last bumper sticker. I am flabbersmacked.


  11. Under films: at this link
    http://cf.myspace.com/oldkan
    there is this in a description of films.

    Tony n’ Mac: I dated a live chick (screenwriter, Director, actor); The Advancing Peril ( Executive Producer, Screenwriter, Director, Actor); Kennedy Bound (Associate Producer, Actor; Jack Diamond and The Obsidian Paradigm (Screenwriter).

    What this means I don’t know.


  12. Tamaskian: One of those set/subset thingies.

    As to why I am well versed, Dad majored in geology and, as a kid, no matter where we went, we got rolling geology lectures which were quite enjoyable. It’s part of my naturalistic outlook.

    Postie: What have I said? Flabbersmacking is not allowed on this blog. Other than that, it is a free speech zone.

    Thomas: “Jack Diamond and the Obsidian Paradigm”? What is the plot? (because it sounds insipid, to say the least (of course, I am just judging a movie by it’s title, so . . .)).


    • I stand corrected. never again shall my smack be flabbered on your blog again. I shall abide by your wishes… unless you meant that you were concerned about me smacking my flabber. In that case, all bets are off.


      • But have you ever smacked your flabber on stage?


      • I don’t do performance art, (((Billy))). Who do you think I am? Annie Sprinkle?


      • Well, a few weeks ago I saw a mailman get piddled on by a schauzer. So Postman piddler would work.


  13. Perhaps God is a DS9 fan.


    • Jeff: You’re nerd is showing. Big time.

      Somehow I doubt it.


  14. I was thinking Star Trek DS9.
    The Cardassian’s had the Obsidian Order.
    Paradigm is a parable or fable.
    Ben Sisko knows that the Obsidian Paradigm
    is a fable but how many fundi’s know.
    That had to be a stick it to ’em moment.


  15. Saw your question on TET, strangely the first search turned up your blog. A little more digging revealed this:

    http://www.theobsidiansociety.com/Welcome.html

    Possible?



Leave a Reply

