h1

Specter Now A Democrat!

28 April, 2009

I have voted for exactly one Republican during my life as a voter.  That one Republican was Senator Arlen Specter (It does not mean I agree with him 100%, but, on balance, I approved of the job he was doing, so I held my nose and voted Republican (in ’92, ’98 and ’04)). Now, Specter is switching parties.  As of today, he is a member of the Democratic Party.   His reasons for switching parties?  (from The Washington Monthly)

“I have been a Republican since 1966. I have been working extremely hard for the Party, for its candidates and for the ideals of a Republican Party whose tent is big enough to welcome diverse points of view. While I have been comfortable being a Republican, my Party has not defined who I am. I have taken each issue one at a time and have exercised independent judgment to do what I thought was best for Pennsylvania and the nation.

“Since my election in 1980, as part of the Reagan Big Tent, the Republican Party has moved far to the right. Last year, more than 200,000 Republicans in Pennsylvania changed their registration to become Democrats. I now find my political philosophy more in line with Democrats than Republicans. […]

“I have decided to run for re-election in 2010 in the Democratic primary.”

I know that, for the past five years or so, he has moved rather sharply to the right.  Earlier this year, he has even announced opposition to bills he co-sponsered in the past to make himself look more conservative (including the Employees Free Choice Act).  Hopefully, he will go back to voting his conscience (which will, without doubt) piss me off on occasion) rather than voting for a primary challenge from the right.

Once Coleman gets his ass handed to him for the third or fourth time by the courts and admits that he really did lose the election, this gives the Democratic Party a shakey 60 votes in the Senate. 

Thank you, Specter.  Let’s see if you actually do something useful, or if this was just a ploy to save your political arse.

11 comments

  1. And we didn’t even need to give up a draft pick, although I’d be cool with giving them Lieberman. I don’t know how many more years he can play though, but a strong veteran presence in the locker room is always welcomed.

    This should also effectively cock-block Toomey, to whom he might have lost to in a Republican primary. As a Democrat, he’ll take him, and that will maintain a strong Democratic team to make another championship run.

    Sorry, I’m still recovering from the NFL draft.


  2. Philly: I hadn’t thought about it in that vein. Cool. Every Republican I know hates him; most of the Democrats I know have a great deal of respect for him.

    Did the Chefs get anything useful? I know my skins got some decent players, but, did the Chefs need anything specific in the draft? or did they need everthing?


  3. They needed D and got D, but yes, they have a lot of needs so their impact may not be so obvious until some more additions are made next year.

    I’m still numb from losing Gonzo. So sad.


  4. Who is Gonzo? Do you mean the buzzard-like-thingie with the chicken fetish? Or am I just really clueless?


  5. Clueless


  6. Oh. I have heard of him. Well, maybe the Chefs will get someone good next year.


  7. Specter is a traiter to American and he should jest commit suicide and save a true American the trouble.


  8. Who is this American of which you speak, Ronnie, and why does Specter owe him or her a jest about suicide?


  9. Ronnie: Thanks for stopping by and spouting your pseudo-patriotic right wing garbage. Please learn to spell.

    Philly: You expected coherence?


  10. I expected command of the American language at least. 😉


  11. Philly: Youse espects too much, haina?



Leave a Reply

