h1

The Radical Right Keeps Getting It Wrong!

11 April, 2009

The politico-religious right really needs some help.  I find it almost painful (well, funny as hell, but painful at the same time (like a Chevy Chase movie)) to watch them make absolute fools of themselves.  How are they making fools of themselves?

Teabagging:  The anti-tax zealots have convinced themselves that raising the top tax rate to levels that are still lower than during the Reagan administration is going to destroy something.  And they have decided to re-enact the Boston tea party (never mind that the Bostonians were not protesting being taxed, they were protesting being taxed without a vote in the process).  Fox News has been flogging these April 15th tea bagging partiesrepeatedly.  Someone really needed to do some basic research, though.  You see, teabagging has an alternate meaning (from (I’m sorry) Wikipedia): 

Teabagging is a slang term for the act of a man placing his testicles in the mouth or on or around the face (including the top of the head) of another person, often in a repeated in-and-out motion as in irrumatio. The practice vaguely resembles dipping a tea bag into a cup of tea.

Which means that when Glenn Beck says he wants to teabag the President, it just brings up some images which really should not be in any part of mind at any time under any circumstances under any drug.

NOM:  The National Organization for Marriage (NOM) has recently released a bizarre ad claiming, among other things, that allowing gay marriage will force heterosexuals to do something (they are rather vague on that part).  Here’s where it gets weird:  NOM has an unusual and somewhat sexual meaning.  From the Urban Dictionary:

Nom

An expression of eating, or a sound thereof.  Also could mean a sexually suggestive action upon either a male or female, one would use the lips and not so much the teeth, a voicing a chomp chomp like action

IE  Ow, this steak is good – Nom Nom –

Man, she was Nom Noming on me last night pretty good

Then, to add oddity to oddness, they came up with the term 2M4M (meaning, I guess, that they want 2 Million to join up 4 Marriage).  Which, apparently, in some situations (such as gay chat rooms (not that I have been to any, understand (not that it would be bad if I had))) is an invitation to a gay three-way.  As in Two Men For Men.  Box Turtle gives this a better write-up than I could.

But, just when I thought they couldn’t get any more bizarre, I discover that the idiots did not bother to register the domain name.  So a gay rights group has created 2m4m.org.  The site is brand new, but very well done.  The photo on the top shows a man and teenager sitting in front of a barn.  The text reads:  “I don’t have to understand, son.  You deserve the same rights as your mother and I.”

So what happens next?  Do the Christians try to take back the rainbow?  Shit.   Too late.  There is a petition up to ‘take back the rainbow’: 

Rainbows are supposed to be a symbol of luck, happiness, and good times. Not a symbol of two men going at it in the rear end. They are supposed to be a nice thing for children. We should be able to wear rainbow colored clothing without people assuming we are gay. Please sign here if you agree. Let us take back the rainbow.

How could conservatives be getting so many things wrong so quickly?  After all, they’ve never been incompetent before, right?

On the other hand, I can now  honestly say that nothing, and I mean nothing, the radical religious and political right does now will surprise me.  Offend, yes.  Anger, yes.  But surprise?  Once I realized that these idiots are both insane and incompetent, nothing can surprise me.

7 comments

  1. Have you seen Rachel Maddow’s take on the tea-bagging incident? I snarfed my coffee.

    Link


  2. Julia: Yeah. She’s good.

    Last night, I realized that maybe, like Steeles performance as the head of the GOP, this is part of some complicated chess move and all of this incompetence and idiocy is actually a plot to effectively get to a certain point. Then I woke up and smelled the coffee.


  3. Now I know why I like your blog so much, (((Billy))). I also learn fascinating, new things about the world when I come here. Coming to this site on Easter Sunday morning was much more, shall I say, enlightening? than going to church would have been. And I didn’t even have to wear a dress and fancy hat.


  4. (((Wife))) and I had no idea about teabagging, or NOM (in it’s sexual connotation), nor 2M4M before this kerfluffle started up. As my (((Dad))) always said, “If you’re not careful, you learn something new every day.” Chappie, you were not careful.


  5. […] unhappy to learn that their acronym has been co-opted by the straights-only marriage folks, and, as chronicled by (((billy))), it’s all downhill from there, with the theocrats taking up kinky hobbies like […]


  6. I can’t listen to the whole tea-bagging thing. I start giggling every time. Of course, at a work lunch the other day one of my co-workers was talking about how nuts sweat (creating problems with her nut allergies), me and another co-worker laughed so hard we couldn’t breathe.


  7. Poodles: And so do asses. It is called ‘asperation.’

    I have a really difficult time keeping a straight face when a man I know (who works for the federal government, complain about all taxes, then complain about the condition of the streets, and then boasts that he will be able to get a first-time home-buyer tax credit. No concept.



Leave a Reply

