h1

Recognizing the Reality Challenged

27 March, 2009

I’ve been blogging for a little over a year, now.  I have been both surprised and (this just shows how naive I was) surprised at some of the idiocy that has come in through the comments (oddly, nothing via email (yet)).  I have also become rather adept at realizing very quickly when I am dealing with a nutcase. 

People like:  rshalom, SOLOMAN AZAR, the ever pompous Reginald Genovese, and mohmood are instantly recognizable.  Others, like marianne, take a while to show their true colours.

My question to all of you in the Aheosphere is:

What word (or phrase) clues you in the fastest that you are dealing with the reality challenged?

 

 

Hat Tip to Dr. Joan Bushwell’s Chimpanzee Refuge for the idea for this post.

14 comments

  1. Its funny, but since I changed my blog and it doesn’t contain the word “atheist” in the title anywhere I don’t get many loons any more.


  2. Poodles: Thppppppt!


  3. And here I thought what brought them was all the parentheses.

    You know you’re just giving them what they want, special attention. Now they’re going to be all aflutter.


  4. Philly: We’ll see if any do come back. They tend to drift away after meeting with your rapier wit, historical knowledge, and delightfully logical brain. But seriously: what one word or phrase immediately sets off an alarm bell for you? “What is evidence?”


  5. God


  6. I can see that.


  7. My love mails always seem to get the really angry ones. They start with “You think you’re so damn smart” or “I’m praying to God for you, fucker”.

    I do so love the crazies.


  8. @Poodles My blog contains the word atheist in the title, and I think I’ve only ever gotten a loon once. Although this could be because I only have two regular readers, one of whom is my father. He’s not the loon, by the way.


  9. Michelle: The ones who both pray for you and damn you are fun. I particularly like the ones who tell me I should accept god(s) of my own free will or be punished.

    Laurie: I’ll try to send one your way.


  10. The only loon I’ve ever gotten was an atheist. I don’t get religious loons. Then again, I pretty much forbid religion based lunacy.


  11. Karen: I haven’t had any atheist loons (yet). As for forbidding certain types of lunacy? So far the only one I’ve actually banned was an Australian who discovered the copy and paste function for comments.


  12. I always get a thrill when I see the phrases, “how can you believe,” and, “by random chance” in close proximity.

    So having the word “atheist” in your blog’s title draws the loonies, does it? I may have to do a spot of renaming – I have far too many rational, sane, intelligent and insightful commentators.


  13. Yunshui: I’m not sure if it draws the loonies or not. Very few search terms include the word ‘atheist’ or other specific term.

    And not all of you commenters are “rational, sand, intelligent and insightful.” I comment on your site, right?


  14. Yunshui: I’m not sure if it draws the loonies or not. Very few search terms include the word ‘atheist’ or other specific term.

    And not all of you commenters are “rational, sand, intelligent and insightful.” I comment on your site, right?



Leave a Reply

