h1

The Thursday Gourmet

12 March, 2009

(((Wife))) and I love chili.  We love chili con carne, chili con pollo, chili with artichokes, you name it.  I have eight different kinds of dried chilis sitting in my pantry.  I have five different powdedered chilis (the nice thing about using lots of different chilis is the flavour can be full without being too hot).  Of course, to go with the chili (I will post a chili recipe next week), you have to have cornbread.

Cornbread a la Billy

Preheat oven to 375.  Grease and flour two pie plates, or one 9′ by 13′ pan (or something equivalent (I can’t list ’em all, damnit!))

3/4 cup white flour (bread or general purpose, not cake)
1 1/4 cup corn meal (white or yellow (hell, if you can get it, blue corn meal works great))
1 or 2 teaspoons salt (kosher salt works nicely)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup natural or demarara sugar (white sugar works, but it just doesn’t have the same plimph)

Sift the dry ingredients together into a large mixing bowl.

Add:

2 eggs
1/2 can of creamed corn
1/4 cup corn oil (rapeseed oil or groundnut oil also works (do not use olive oil (Popeye would be pissed)))

Mix with a fork.

Add milk (up to 1 cup) while stirring until it creates a thick pourable batter.

Pour into the prepared pans.  Place on a center oven rack and bake for about 30 minutes.  When the top and edges begin to brown slightly, pull it out, cut it up and serve with plenty of honey and butter (or mix honey and butter together).  Enjoy.

You can reduce the sugar to one tablespoon and add a can of roasted green chiles, a some diced jalapeno or serrano chili, and some ground cumin if you want a more picquant version.  I prefer the sweet, but that’s just me.

10 comments

  1. I have wonderful receipes for chili.
    My only problem Billy is why you keep talking about corn.
    I thought you were, well, deeper than that!
    Dax


  2. I love chili and corn bread!!!


  3. Hate cornbread…but will work for chili! Your recipe better be badass with that kind of build up


  4. Dax: What’s wrong with corn? I can make hoppin’ john, corn bread, corn pudding, corn bread stuffing, creamed corn, steamed corn, roasted corn on the cob (with or without garlic butter), boiled corn on the cob (I’m starting to sound like Forrest Gump’s shrimp friend here). Anyway, two recipes, only one has corn. No patter. Keep moving.

    Poodles: Again, the chili recipe (and not a normal, run-of-the-mill chili) will be up next Thursday. Mark you calendars.

    DB: You must be one of them thar un-Amercuns we done been hearing ’bout. What’s wrong with corn bread?


  5. Chili and corn bread, a great mix in any meal.


  6. While I also love any type of chili, I ask, have you had Cincinnati Chili?

    I may have to try the cornbread. I have a never fail version I make just so I can use any leftover cornbread the next day for the base for huevos rancheros instead of using tortillas for it.


  7. NA: Never had Cincinnati chili. Though I did get hit with chile mac in the army. With onions.

    The cornbread recipe isn’t all that unusual: just a higher ratio of corn meal and the creamed corn.


  8. Made this cornbread today, with 1 Tbsp sugar and 1 tsp chilli paste; very tasty, except it stuck to the bottom of the pan.

    I’m planning on cooking this next weekend as part of a dinner party. Afterwards I was thinking of posting all the recipes on my blog. Would you mind me posting your recipe? (I’d provide a link back here)


  9. Oz: No problem reposting my recipes. Enjoy.


  10. […] a la Billy w/ Chilli Butter or Garlic […]



Leave a Reply

