h1

Another Way to Celebrate Christmas

21 December, 2008

Many atheists have been working towards figuring out what exactly it is that we are celebrating this time of year. I told of my philosophical struggle with celebrating Christmas here. Others celbrate Yule (or Jul) from Scandinavia;  Winter Solstice celebrations (which my parent’s UU church celebrates); and PhillyChief has come up with Happy Miraculously Busted Hymen Day.  Even (vice PZ Myers) Happy Monkey. I wish to, with all humility, add my own.

I, along with perhaps a billion Christians (plus some atheists, Jews and other theists who celebrate Christmas), am actually celebrating something dear to my own heart.  We are all celebrating the ultimate proof that abstinence-only sex education does not prevent pregnancy.  And it hasn’t for about 2,000 years.

And I already get too many hits on my site about Absinthe and sex, so I refuse to mention it here.

I will be away in Florida until the 29th so feel free to browse back through almost a year of posts.  Merry Christmas, Happy Yule, Happy Channukah, Sappy Solstice, and Abstienence Doesn’t Work Day!

7 comments

  1. We are all celebrating the ultimate proof that abstinence-only sex education does not prevent pregnancy. And it hasn’t for about 2,000 years.

    This has to be about the funniest single sentence I have read on a blog in a looooong time. Brilliant


  2. DB: That is actually two sentences, but thanks anyway.


  3. Clever, but then that just reinforces for Christians that accidental pregnancies are just god’s little miracles and clearly acts of his will.


  4. Damn, I’m really having a hard time figuring what to call this holiday. So many fine choices, so little time…


  5. I am deeply offended that you did not wish us all a happy Festivus. After all, this is the only real holiday.


  6. I’m growing partial to Festivus, myself. Great name.


  7. Philly: Always the optimist, aren’t you?

    VJack: Just a touch of offensensitivity there, eh? If I had remembered Festivus (was that the one invented on Seinfeld?) I would have included it.

    Chappie: I agree. Great name. With all the holidays clustered in one short period, why don’t we just say, “Happy Holidays”?



Leave a Reply

