h1

Another Democrat for Obama

4 November, 2008

(((Wife))) and I are back from voting.  Actually, we voted in the early afternoon.  There were a total of four people in line ahead of us.  There were only three electronic voting machines.  We were voters 279 and 280.

While waiting for (((Wife))), I asked another voter (we were away from the machines at this point) why he was voting for McCain.  I guessed he was voting for McCain because of the “Another Democrat for McCain” button.  He said he was not sure about Obama.

“What are you not sure about?” I asked.

“Well, I’m not sure if he’s an American.”

“Why?” I asked.  “His name?  You do know that he was born in Hawai’i, which is a state, right?”

“Well, yeah, but I’m not sure if he’s a patriot.”

“Why would anyone go through what he went through if he doesn’t love his country?”  I wasn’t going to let this rest. I wanted a real answer.

“He may be a patriot, but his pastor is real weird. And he may be a Muslim.”

I shook my head to clear it and asked, “How can he be a Muslim and have a weird pastor?”

“I just can’t vote for a black man.”

“Thank you for being honest.  Forget the rest of it.  Go with what you believe.” 

Every time I see a “Another Democrat for McCain” yard sign, bumper sticker, or button, all I can think is “Another racist asshole for McCain.”

One comment

  1. Ha Ha racist asshole, you lose.

    Good to see Obama win, I think it shows a sign of maturity in the American voting public, coming out in droves and voting for the best person, white of black.



Leave a Reply

