h1

Boston Does It To Me Again!!!!!

18 October, 2008

Back in June, the Boston Celtics made it all the way to the NBA finals.  During one of the games, the Celtics trailed by over twenty points and were trailing by almost the same well into the fourth quarter.  Then they came back (read about my reaction here).

Now the Red Sox are in the American League Championship Series.  They have been losing badly to the Rays (who used to be the Devil Rays until the right wing Christofascist idiots in Florida convinced the new owner that ‘worshipping the devil is unChristian’).  Thursday night, I watched the hapless Red Sox well into the 7th inning.  Two outs into the 7th inning.  They were down by seven runs, and showed no signs of life.  So I turned off the telly and went to bed.

The next morning, as I started my car, the radio came to life with a local commercial referring to the Phillies-Tampa World Series.  Shit.  They lost.

Then the morning talk show on our local ESPN Radio affiliate comes on.  Mike and Mike are talking about the greatest comeback ever by a team facing elimination, and the second greatest comeback in post-season history.  My Sox won.  And I missed the great comeback.

The question is,does this show faith, or a lack thereof?

Seriously.

Does it show that, because of years and years and years (and years (not to mention decades)) of disappointment watching my Red Sox lose in the most improbable ways (Damn you, Bucky Dent!), I have faith that the Red Sox will find a way to lose games?  Am I conditioned to believe that, no matter how promising things look, the Sox will screw it up?

Or, conversely, does this mean that I have no faith in my team?  Do I assume that the Sox will lose, thus showing my lack of faith?  Do I not believe in my team?

Faith, to me, can be defined as ‘a willingness to believe something despite no evidence, or evidence to the contrary’ (among numerous other definitions).  My faith that the Red Sox will find a way to lose (despite 2004 and 2007) is based upon years of disappointment, so it is not faith.  Or do I have faith that they will lose, despite evidence to the contrary?

Or am I putting way too much thought into this?

Anyway, tonight, I’m watching the whole damn game!  Probably.

11 comments

  1. I have to admit, I turned the game off between the 3 and 7 innings. After Pena’s home run, I thought it was over, so I watched something else with the intention of watching the end of the game. When I tuned back, I was pleasantly surprised.

    My definition of faith (belief without evidence) doesn’t coincide with sports. There is plenty of evidence that teams can score 7 runs in 3 innings, it happens fairly often. It’s all a matter of probability and the law of averages. The was certainly no guarantee that they would score, but the was an obvious chance that they could.

    I wouldn’t say that I had faith. I would say that I believed it was possible to come back even though that exact situation hasn’t happened yet. None of the individual events of game 5 were special, but the combination of them was unique. I hoped that this would be the day that unique combination happened, but I understand that my hope (from my living room) had no impact on the outcome.


  2. Bugsoup: Welcome to my blog.

    I know that teams can score seven or more runs even in one inning. For the Sox, though, I tend to swing back and forth between faith that they will win and faith that they will find a way to lose.

    And I am glad to hear from another fan who understands that, no matter how loudly we yell from our living room, it will not affect the outcome of the game. Just like screaming “Don’t open the door” during a horror flick will not stop her from opening the door and having her head sliced off with a chainsaw. Reality is fun. Why muck it up with woo?


  3. Didn’t they win a couple of World Series titles in the last few years? Wtf? You’ve lost your claim to that ‘used to losing’ crap.


  4. Philly: The last few years have been nice, but it is a little like post traumatic stress disorder — the team may have won, but the memory of the losing tradition continues to haunt me. Red Sox Stress Disorder (RSSD) is a real disease. Even thought I know that the won last night, I still had to go over to the Red Sox page just to double check and make sure they didn’t find a way to lose it after the game.

    It must be nice to cheer for a team like the Royals or the Chiefs (just as an example) where you know that any victory is an anomoly. Even if the Chiefs win today, you know that they will lose next week so the universe is in balance. The BoSox winning two World Series titles this decade (and the Yankees not even making the playoffs) is good, by my RSSD kicks in and it feels wrong. That faith thing again. No reason for it, just faith (or negative faith?).


  5. At least you’re not a Mets fan.


  6. lokjhg: 1986. Need I say more?


  7. You’re definitely overthinking this. It’s the Red Sox. Don’t think. Set up an altar, burn incense and a picture of Bill Buckner, take a Xanax, and let the universe take its course. Oh, yeah, and drink some (((Scotch))).


  8. Aren’t the Red Sox the new Yankees?

    I’m so used to seeing the Red Sox win that I can’t even watch the playoffs anymore.

    If it wasn’t on TBS I might watch tonight’s game though.


  9. Ric: But they are the Red Sox. Winning seems so damn wrong! I feel unworthy to be ceering for a winning team. My Buckner picture (actually a baseball card) was burned in 1986. Really. I could borrow some of (((Girl)))’s incense, I suppose. No Xananx, though. I may be able to round up some heavy duty pain killers, but no Xanax. Scotch works.

    Infinityx: NO! NO! NO! NO! NO! NO! NO! Never. The Sox are NOT the Yankees. How dare you? The Red Sox are . . . . Damn. They are winners. That just seems so wrong.

    Should be a good game, though.


  10. Here it is the day after. Do you feel better now? 🙂


  11. Yes. As a Sox fan, defeat just feels right. I don’t like it, but it feels right.



Leave a Reply

