h1

This Is Interesting

7 September, 2008

I tried to get some information off John McCain’s website.  Here’s the message I got:

You are not authorized to view this page

The Web server you are attempting to reach has a list of IP addresses that are not allowed to access the Web site, and the IP address of your browsing computer is on this list.


Please try the following:

  • Contact the Web site administrator if you believe you should be able to view this directory or page.

HTTP Error 403.6 – Forbidden: IP address of the client has been rejected.
Internet Information Services (IIS)


Technical Information (for support personnel)

  • Go to Microsoft Product Support Services and perform a title search for the words HTTP and 403.
  • Open IIS Help, which is accessible in IIS Manager (inetmgr), and search for topics titled About Security, Limiting Access by IP Address, IP Address Access Restrictions, and About Custom Error Messages.

 

The address of my computer has specifically been blocked from accessing information about John McCain’s health care proposal. 

 Do you really suppose that his folks are blocking access for a blogger who averages around 800 visitors a week?  Can you say paranoia?  Anyone else come up against this?

13 comments

  1. You got it.


  2. Whitehawk: Do you know of any other bloggers getting blocked like this? Is this new, or have I been that oblivious?


  3. I just checked the Web site and had no problem. I recommend that you Whois your IP to see if it has been blacklisted.


  4. some of blog did not allow., cause they avoid spam


  5. I was able to get on the McCain Web site, although I immediately clicked off to avoid being contaminated by Stupid.

    Perhaps the Republicans think you’re using too many parentheses.


  6. Well, shoot! I just tried and had no problem accessing the site. Your blog is apparently scarier than mine…

    Must…try…harder….


  7. no problem accessing the site from sweden


  8. Did some additional checking. I’m only blacklisted from a few of the pages, most notably health care. Weird.


  9. If you’re black listed there, just think of the OTHER lists you may be on.


  10. Rereading the first comment now that I’m awake, from Whitehawk (no web site, no valid email address), I think that individual was confirming that I have been blacklisted.

    Veblen: Welcome to my blog. What is a whois?

    Storm: Welcome to my blog. I don’t know why the software would flag me as spam.

    Ex: Maybe you are not being truthful enough about McAin’t. Or it may be my parentheses.

    Mikko: Welcome to my blog. I think that the web site is okay (extemely stupid, but accessible). I think that I have been blocked from the site because of my writing. I guess they don’t want me to quote his platform, so I guess I’ll just have to mke it up. Oh. Wait. That’s what Republicans do. I can’t do that.

    Sarge: That’s just plain scary.

    All: I just went to the site and did not get the message on ANY of the subpages of the site. Odd.


  11. Ex said, “Perhaps the Republicans think you’re using too many parentheses.”

    That’s probably it. The Republicans have to hoard everything and they’re very bad at sharing.


  12. I just checked the “no-fly” list for (((Billy))) but found nothing. So at least you are good there!


  13. (((Billy))),

    You can hide your IP address by running annonymizer software. There’s a lot of free stuff and shareware around. Even the commercial stuff isn’t very expensive. Since it makes your IP anonymous, no one can blacklist you because they don’t know who you are.

    My PC network is behind a router, a firewall, and anonymizer software. I periodically visit a tech website that, when you give them permission, tries to break into your PC. So far, they’ve been unable to even detect my presence on the Internet, let alone hack into it. I always get a message that states that they know I’m there because I asked them to hack into my PC, but I’m invisible to them.

    This is great because a “gazillion” hackers have “bots” patrolling the Internet on the lookout for PCs with unsecured ports. And, because of my security measures, these “bots” don’t even know I’m online.



Leave a Reply

