h1

I Have Returned (and I am NOT MacArthur)

3 July, 2008
I have returned from my assignment at the South One fire on the Great Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge.  I worked night shift, so I saw very little of what was actually happening on the fire (the photos enclosed were taken while I was getting the lay of the land (flat (and wet))).  The burned area reminds me of photos I have seen of the area around Ypres, circa 1914 to 1918.
I am now getting acquainted with a shot of scotch (Chivas) and will now get reacquainted with (((wife))).
The North End of a South Bound BearA Burned Area in the Great Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge
5 comments

  1. Welcome back! Enjoy your “reaquiantance” (is that what they call it nowadays?).

    Seriously, I think I speak for the atheosphere as a whole when I say it’s good to have you back in one piece.


  2. Welcome back.


  3. Good to have you back.

    Scotch first, (((wife))) second?

    🙂


  4. I initially was disappointed that you got a shot of the bear’s ass rather than its face, but then I realized that you may have been happier to see it going away rather than coming toward you. 😉

    Welcome back.


  5. Yunshui: Yes, it is. And it’s good to be back. Though the way this summer is starting to look, I may be gone lots.

    Poodles: Thanks. Again, good to be back.

    Ric: Pervert! I can’t drink scotch while, can I?

    Chappie: The photo was taken from the passenger seat of a truck while moving at about 20 miles per hour. We say three bears, and this one didn’t have the brains to turn left or right off of the road. Still in the gene pool, though.



Leave a Reply

