h1

The Pledge Project

25 May, 2008

I spotted this over at Atheist Revolution (and it is originally from Atheist Ethicist).  The Atheist Ethicist’s premise is that the use of the words ‘under God’ in the Pledge of Allegiance and the use of ‘In God We Trust’ as our national motto (what happened to e pluribus unum?  I like that one) are more than intrusions of religion into our government, but actually have the (intended?) effect of banning non-believers from participation in certain aspects of American democracy.  No mater how well versed a candidate is in public policy, economics, miltary theory, or any other aspect of government, unless he or she is a believer in a God, there almost no possibility of being elected to public office. 

The Atheist Ethicist is anticipating a great deal of backlash when the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals reaches a decision (soon) regarding the Constitutionality of the words ‘under God’ in the  Pledge of Allegience.  Either they will remove those McCarthy-era words and it will be another example of the fictional ‘war on religion/Christians, or it will be retained, in which case we take another step towards theocracy.  His suggestion is for atheists and other fans of church/state separation write letters to the editors in an attempt to explain the situation as a moral and ethical decision, not an anti-Christian decision. 

I don’t think it will work, but I’m game.  At the very least it is a good start.

Please visit the Atheist Ethicist adn read the whole thing.

5 comments

  1. Imagine back in the day if the bigots were as media savvy as they are today. This whole “war on” this or that, marriage, christmas, christians, America, blah blah blah. The fucking right wingnuts are REALLY quite clever ad men these days.


  2. Philly: Yeah. If they were as savvy today, miscegenation laws, segregation, loyalty oaths, and poll taxes would probably still be in effect.


  3. I had read vjack’s post previously, but hadn’t seen Alonzo’s. Thanks for the link. I left a comment on Alonzo’s site that I think I’ll expand into a post on my blog.


  4. My idea of God isn’t quite the “norm” anymore, and this has led to some interesting moments for me. I was in Boy Scouts growing up and my kids wanted to get involved as well when their time came. They wanted me to be a leader, but I couldn’t do the whole “I believe in God” thing, knowing that saying it meant agreeing to a whole slew of things that I just don’t hold dear anymore. Same came when I was invited to join the local Moose lodge. Part of the contract involved admitting to a believe in God. Even though the definition is very loose, I just couldn’t do it.

    These are minor compared to being part of a country, however. Interesting post . . .


  5. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Metalware!!



Leave a Reply

