h1

So I’m Lazy Today

6 May, 2008

 

Stolen Borrowed from Pharyngula

4 comments

  1. (((Billy))),

    Starting to get more and more of those type days myself.

    This morning, I had the occasion to sit in on some court proceedings. When the Clerk swore in the first person, he said “Raise your right hand. Do you swear to tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help you…?” The person answered, “I do.”

    I thought that I had misheard the Clerk, so I concentrated on the proceedings. But as each succeeding person was sworn in, the Clerk said the same thing. The word God was missing.

    This was one big surprise for me!! Now I have to find out if this omission of “God” was at the behest of this particular judge, or new rules of our local, statewide, or nationwide court systems. But whatever the reason, it sure is one big step forward for the secular movement.

    Have you any information about this? Since you work for the feds, maybe you’ve run across this at your job.


  2. Frizz: Welcome. I (luckily) have no contact with the court system, federal or at any level. I hadn’t heard of this, but I like it.


  3. Great cartoon. Sometimes lazy days are good. I’ve been known to have some of them myself.


  4. Working in a bookshop that supplies a number of government bodies, I do occasionally get asked for bibles to be used in court. Recently, though, we’ve had to find a few other things: qur’ans, tanakhs and so on. I have yet to get an order for a copy of The God Delusion for courtroom use, but hopefully it’s only a matter of time…



Leave a Reply

