h1

Christian Vandalism

14 March, 2008

Why is it that some Christians assume that vandalism is okay as long as it supports a Christian message.  Today, driving through downtown Wilkes-Barre, my wife and I saw a crosswalk sign which had been vandalised.  Specifically, someone had added a cross made from black electrical tape to a crosswalk sign to make it look like the stick figure on the sign was carrying a cross.

Correct me if I am wrong, but this is vandalism.  In addition, it is defacing a traffic warning sign.  But I guess it is okay if you are a Christian, right?  So, how would the vandal react if I, and atheist, put a Darwin Fish on a street sign?  I’ll bet dollars to donuts that they would not be happy.

2 comments

  1. (((Billy))):
    Some folks call this E-vandalism. Cute, eh? Check out this site to see some of the sidewalk chalk messages these jerks have proudly left on the streets of Vancouver.

    When I first saw that post (it’s from early 2007), I was still a Christian. Nevertheless, I realized that if some people had written stuff, any stuff, all over my sidewalk, I’d be plenty pissed off. I did not see this as a valid form of evangelism then, and I really don’t see it that way now.


  2. Vandelism is wrong regardless of religious persuasion. About the Darwin Fish scenario…there would probably be a blog post expressing the same frustation as you have with it being the cross. Sinful people cause great grief. Keep up the conversations.



Leave a Reply

