h1

Childhood Cursing

14 March, 2008

Yesterday, I overheard one of those phrases from my childhood (and no, my darling daughter, it was the 1970s, NOT the 1870s) and it brought a smile to me.  The phrase was:

Jesus Christ on a crutch.

I didn’t find the phrase itself amusing (though it is (in an odd sort of way)).  Rather, it brought to mind some of the odd things we said when I was a kid to either curse, or attempt to impy cursing without actually doing it.  Some of the other phrases I remember from back in the day”

Jeezum Croll, Jeezum Crolliosis, Jesus H. Christ Hellemariah, darnheck (or heckdarn), oh shirt, mother on a stick, mother on a popsicle stick, weasel in a hole, bustanut

This is an incomplete list (and does not include the ones we really wanted to use (and did, occasionally) — hell, shit, damn, fuck, etc.), but, looking back, I find myself admiring how creative some of our cursing was.  Today’s kids (I guess because of the acceptability of cursing today) seem much more comfortable with actually using the ‘seven deadly words,’ and are also much less creative in their cursing.

So.  Up above is a partial list (it is partial because that’s what I remember).  I think the cursing and swearing back then was highly regional, so what creative swearing and/or cursing do you remember from your childhood?

(My blog is now rated “R”)

3 comments

  1. This is Utah, so swearing subs continue into adults here. Heck, flip, flippin’ frick freak, I don’t remember any for Jesus. Crap cripe shoot. I love hearing a 30 year old say frickin’ heck!


  2. My wife pointed out (after I wrote this) that many of our daughter’s friends use ‘snap’ as an alternate for ‘shit.’


  3. Well, since my parents were Salvation Army officers/ministers, I must confess that I had a strong attraction to forbidden language as a child. Curse words fascinated me and I reveled in the idea that I, the preacher’s darling little girl, could shock people with them (other than my parents: I never swore in their presence – cussing wasn’t worth getting grounded or hauled to the altar for a prayer or three). So, when I swore (which was often), only the nastiest, vilest terms would do. Substitutes were for weenies.



Leave a Reply

