h1

Strange Family Conversation Number 3

4 March, 2008

I was cooking dinner (pork chops with sauted onions (my vegetarian daughter is at rehersal (again))) and my wife told the boy that dinner would be soon, so he needed to clean up his modeling supplies on the table.  I said, “Not to worry, dinner will take awhile.”

My wife said, “Why?  I’m hungry.”

“I have to cook the onions slowly so they won’t be bitter.”

My son pipes up:  “Yeah.  I like onions with a sunny attitude.”

I shot back:  “How can an onion have a sunny attitude?  They grow underground, get ripped out of the soil, have their tops chopped off, get peeled, chopped and cooked.”

 This kind of conversation happens at my house all the time.  My kids are very good at ‘barometre thinking’ — looking at things from an odd point of view.

Leave a Reply

