h1

Street Oddity

3 March, 2008

I just got back from walking down to the high school and back.  My daughter is in a production of “Little Shop of Horrors” and she had rehearsal tonight.  With the price of gas, she walks.  After dark, I (or we) walk down to collect her. 

As I was walking up the hill, I heard the old thumpa, thumpa, thumpa from an approaching car.  One of the ones with woofers bigger than my home stereo.  I glanced back to see which car it was (there are a couple which routinely go up our street at high volume (and sometimes high speed)).  It was not one I recognized.

As the car slowed for the stop sign at the top of the hill, I was able to make out the words from the (c)rap song.  That, in and of itself, made this a remarkable occurance (I have NEVER been able to make hide nor hair of (c)rap lyrics).  The words were unusual.  I could make out the words “god,” “saved through joy,” “surrender to his magical hand,” and “loving the body of my lord.”  Not all of the words were identifiable over the bass rumble.

So, I was left with some questions.  Is there actually Christian (c)rap?  Was this actually a (c)rap song about being saved by Jesus and god?  Or maybe I am totally misunderstanding what I heard.  Maybe “surrender to his magical hand” and “loving the body of my lord” have a much more prurient meaning.  Or, I could be correct on both counts.  Maybe the (c)rap ‘song’ was about being saved in a religious sense, while being molested by, oh, I don’t know, a priest?

Either way, I am disturbed.

One comment

  1. Yea, there is christian (c)rap music. The double whammy of annoyance.



Leave a Reply

