h1

Brilliance Revealed

1 March, 2008

Okay, folks.  You’ve had a chance to answer the Quiz for Those Who Know Everything.  Compare your answers to the ones I have here.  If you have an additional (or alternative) correct answer, post it in the comments section below, and I will add them in (you guessed it) parentheses as they come in. 

  1. The one sport in which neither the spectators nor the participants know the score or the leader until the contest ends:  Boxing (The Exterminator adds Bullfighting (with a caveat), and The Chaplain chimes in with chess).
  2. The North American landmark constantly moving backwards:  Niagara Falls, by about 2.5 feet per year (I would add Great Falls on the Potomac, Bridal Veil Falls at Yosemite, the Upper and Lower falls on the Yellowstone, and any other waterfall considered a landmark)
  3. Only four vegetables can produce multiple crops over more than two years. All others must be replanted every year. Name two:  Asparagus and Rhubarb (I would add Jerusalem Artichokes (also called sunchokes) and bamboo)
  4. The fruit that has its seeds on the outside:  Strawberry
  5. In many liquor stores, you can buy pear brandy with a real pear inside the bottle.  The pear is whole and ripe, and the bottle is genuine glass with no seams, and has not been cut in any way.  How did the pear get in the bottle?  The bottle is placed over pears when still small enough to fit through the neck of the bottle.  The bottle is left in place for the entire growing season.  When the pears are ripe, they are snipped off at the stems.
  6. Only three words in the English language begin with the letters  ”dw” and they are all common words (words from the English language variant, ElmerFuddish, do not count, per The Exterminator).  Name two of them:  Dwarf, Dwell and Dwindle (I would add “Dweeb”)
  7. There are fourteen punctuation marks in the English language.  Name half (7) of them (or more (and don’t look at the friggin keyboard, ‘kay?))  Period, comma, colon, semicolon, dash, hypen, apostrophe,  question mark, exclamation point, quotation mark, brackets, braces, ellipses and (my favourite) parentheses 
  8. Name the only fruit or vegetable that is never sold frozen, canned, processed, pickled, cooked, or in any other form except fresh:  Lettuce (The Exterminator adds a caveat (and gets an extra 1/2 point):  Chinese Lettuce is sold pickled;  David Heathcote adds Cress (go easy on him, I think he’s English))
  9. Name six or more things you can wear on your feet beginning with the letter “S”:  shoes, socks, sandals, sneakers, slippers, skis, skates, snowshoes, stockings, stilts (The Exterminator gets another point for adding “spats”)

Scoring is as follows:  One point for a fully correct answer.  On-half point for each partial answer.  One point for each new answer not listed here (and which does not get shot down by other members of our community. 

By the scoring listed above, I scored a 7.5.  Most of you can, I am sure, beat that.

6 comments

  1. Number 1 = Bullfighting (Disclaimer: I hate that some people consider it a sport)


  2. Ex: I accept Bullfighting (of course, everyone knows that the bull will lose no matter what). But what was your score (with the bonus point?)


  3. I’m not sure if I get 2 points or only 1 point for Number 1. I’m either 7 or 8.

    I didn’t get number 3 and never would have. Number 8 is wrong — Chinese lettuce is sold pickled.


  4. I’m not sure if I get one point or two points for number 1.

    You can also wear spats on the feet, so I guess I get two points for number 9.

    Also, number 8 is wrong. Chinese lettuce can be purchased pickled.

    So I got either eight or nine points. But I ought to get something for discovering that number 8 is wrong.


  5. I sucked. But for number 6 if you live in Utah you can add dwraw. As in dwraw me a picture. Trust me, it is Utahnics 101.


  6. Well, I never thought of bullfighting for #1. My first thought for that was chess, which some chess federations have argued is a sport.

    I should have gotten Great Falls; I live less than ten miles away from that park and love hiking and photographing there.



Leave a Reply

