h1

You Can’t Make This Stuff Up II

29 February, 2008

One of our local gas and convenience stores is Sheetz (actually from Western PA, but that’s local).  They also have a small fast food (subs (or hoagies, or grinders, or heroes, or torpedoes), sandwiches, salads, wraps) area inside most of the stores.  Their latest product is a chicken sandwich and they put up some really neat billboards lettered “Crispy Frickin’ Chicken.”

 According to todays Times Leader newspaper, some people have a problem with this and are bombarding the stores and headquarters with angry phone calls.  All I can say is get a grip, people.  It’s not a swear word (though it is a frickin’ acceptable alternative to the real frickin’ word (which if you haven’t figured it out yet, the frickin’ word is fucking)).  Our streets are crumbling under the weight of tax cuts and SUVs.  Our schools are falling apart.  And these freaks are upset about the word ‘frickin’ on a billboard.

8 comments

  1. And they have no problem with a store named “Sheetz”? Sounds scatological to me!


  2. Congratulations, Seven Crows. Yours is the first comment which has made me actually laugh out loud. You win three free visits to my blog (comments are still regular price).


  3. This was on the front page of the Harrisburg paper today. I wrote a letter to the editor, and sent it in. Hope they publish it.


  4. Seven Crows: The first time I saw a Sheetz station, I had that same thought.

    Great minds and all that…


  5. If you have three Sheetz stores in a row, can you have chicken between the sheetz?

    On a windy day, could you say they were three Sheetz to the wind?

    And let’s not forget the immortal ‘frak’ of Battlestar Galactica, the best show on television. Haven’t heard any complaints about that!

    Would fraking chicken be the extra crispy kind? If you had both kinds in one bucket, could you call it frick and frak?


  6. Congratulations, Ric. You are the second commenteer to make me laugh out loud. You get the same prize: three free visits to my blog (comments at regular price).

    I thought you were on sabbatical with a bottle of Chivas?


  7. Comments aren’t sabbaticalized.

    Chivas? Who can afford Chivas? I make do with vermouth and brandy. I’m a cheap drunk. One drink and I’m done.


  8. I can’s afford Chivas. The only reason I have a bottle is I got on for my 41st birthday. I’m now past 42. I’m a slow drinker.

    Sabbaticalized? Sounds like a good name for a blog, eh?



Leave a Reply

