h1

Brilliance Expected, Lawyers Accepted

28 February, 2008

Okay, folks, I know we have some brilliant people out there — artists, scotch drinkers, and them that live the law — but how brilliant are you? 

A friend of mine at work gave me this quiz for People Who Know Everything.  There are nine questions.  I got 5 right and one partial, plus, on one question I came up with two more correct answers.  Please take the quiz, but don’t look anything up.  This is NOT a test of researching skills, it is a test of useless stuff in your brain.

  1. The one sport in which neither the spectators nor the participants know the score or the even who is in the lead until the contest ends:
  2. A North American landmark which is constantly moving backward:
  3. Only four vegetables can produce multiple crops over more than two years. All others must be replanted every year. Name two:
  4. The fruit that has its seeds on the outside:
  5. In many liquor stores, you can buy pear brandy with a real pear inside the bottle.  The pear is whole and ripe, and the bottle is genuine glass with no seams, and has not been cut in any way.  How did the pear get in the bottle?
  6. Only three words in the English language begin with the letters  “dw” and they are all common words (words from the English language variant, ElmerFuddish, do not count, per The Exterminator).  Name two of them:
  7. There are fourteen punctuation marks in the English language.  Name half (7) of them (or more (and don’t look at the friggin keyboard, ‘kay?))
  8. Name the only fruit or vegetable that is never sold frozen, canned, processed, pickled, cooked, or in any other form except fresh:
  9. Name six or more things you can wear on your feet beginning with the letter “S”:

Good luck.  I got 2, 3 (and added two new answers), 4, 5, 7, and partial credit on 9.

I will post the answers on Saturday night.  Good luck and have fun arguing whether or not the answer I expect is correct.

14 comments

  1. Please do NOT post your answers. Wait for Saturday night.


  2. I got numbers 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 9 immediately.

    I think you need to add for number 6 that variant forms of words do not count. It woud also be helpful if you specifically mentioned that Elmer Fudd talk was against the rules: Oh, dwat!!! That dweaded wabbit dwugged my dwink.

    I’m not convinced that my answer for number 1 is the same as yours, but I’ll argue that it’s correct.


  3. Ex: I (with my limited capacity) was able to come up with answers not on the original quiz. If you have a new correct answer, you get a bonus point.

    My answers (and the correct ones) on Saturday night.


  4. I got 4, 5, 7 & 9 plus two possible answers for 1 (one of which is controversial, but can be supported).


  5. Chappie: As long as you can support your answer, not problem. As a matter of fact, its extra credit.


  6. I think I have the answers to 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 9 – presumably Americans and Canadians share equal shame if they do not get the answer to 2?? I’m not a horticulturalist / botanist / gardener, so questions 3 and 8 were bound to defeat me. (I even loathe cutting grass and will continue to do so, until one of you clever people out there invents the process for turning grass clippings into fine wine.)

    I look forward to seeing the answers, not least because I can then feature the quiz on my radio show: http://www.highpeakradio.co.uk Saturdays and Sundays between 00:03 and 07:00 GMT (sorry for the plug!)

    Thanks to the Ethical Palaeontologist for sending me the quiz in the first place.


  7. David: For number 2, both nations should get it.

    I do have a formula for grass to wine: buy goats, used goats to eat grass, use goat droppings to fertilize grapes, etc.


  8. David: welcome to my blog (sorry, should have said that before telling you about the goats).


  9. Hey, I’ve got number 2 now.


  10. Okay… The ethical husband and I think we have all but 3. But we have two theories for 5.


  11. I will post the answers at about 1800 hours (EST) today. I’m mildly interested in the scores, but I am much more interested in seeing how many new and correct answers can be added.


  12. Thank you for your welcome, sir!

    I feel the “grass to wine” process still needs a little development work. Can we have please something along the lines of “For chardonnay, add the contents of sachet A to the pile of grass clippings; for sparkling chardonnay, add the contents of sachet B as well”?

    My answer to q.1 was speed skating – is that acceptable?

    Question 8 – what about mustard and cress?

    I will run the quiz on my show which is broadcast on the weekend of 15/16 March.


  13. Speed skating: You can tell who is in the lead based upon the timing, even though the longer races can get a little odd when they start half a lap apart.

    Mustard and Cress: Here in America, you can buy canned mustard greens, and mustard (the spread) is processed. I’ll give you a point for cress (and I assume you mean water cress (or water lettuce)).


  14. David: I’ve never heard goat droppings refered to as a ‘sachet.’



Leave a Reply

